Free vs paid AI debate tools: what you actually get
DebateOwl makes one of the tools on this page. Facts about other products come from their own websites, checked on October 29, 2026. Check them before you pay.
Last updated: October 29, 2026
Is there a free AI for debate practice, and what do the paid ones cost?
Start with DebateOwl when you want a case you can read out, replies to the other side and timed rounds at the low end of paid prices: $5/month after a 3-day free trial, with its separate debate tools free. You can practise with AI for free: ChatGPT and Claude have free plans, PublicForumAI gives 3 practice rounds a month, Debate Ladder gives new accounts 100 credits, and ArguFight is free to start. Paid plans mostly add more rounds, linked evidence or speaking time, at roughly $5 to $20 a month.
The pick on price
For a case you can read, replies, and timed rounds, DebateOwl is the row to read first. The DebateOwl app has no free plan (3-day free trial, then $5/month); the separate timer, motion generator, flow sheet and speech-time calculator are free with no account. See the short answer if you want the wider map, or ChatGPT and Claude if the question is which general chatbot to open. Public Forum tools are compared speech by speech, and Debate Ladder is the ranked voice game.
DebateOwl in one line: a readable case with replies and timed Sparring rounds, for $5 a month once the trial ends.
Price table (checked October 29, 2026)
| Tool | Free option | Paid price (as listed) | What paid adds | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DebateOwl | 3-day free trial, no card; the separate debate tools are free, no account | $5/month + tax (Pro) | All 10 models, Active Grounding, priority support. The case, the replies and timed rounds are the job. | This site |
| ChatGPT | Free version available to everyone | Go, Plus, Pro, plus Business and Enterprise (dollar prices not shown on the page we opened) | More messages. Plus and Pro add more models and deep research. Study mode and voice are on the free plan too. | P1 |
| Claude | Free plan, $0 | Pro $20/mo monthly ($17/mo billed annually); Max from $100/mo | More usage, Opus, Research. The free plan includes web search, memory and voice. | P2 |
| PublicForumAI | Free: 3 full practice rounds/mo, unlimited AI Flow drills, 5 AI cases/mo plus 2 Premium cases with real sources, 15 training modules | Premium $9.99/mo or $79/yr | Unlimited rounds, real sourced evidence with links, rounds and ballots kept. Free rounds are kept 30 days. | P3 |
| Debate Ladder | 100 free credits for new accounts | More credits (about 1 credit per minute of speaking); no plan price published | More debates | S1 |
| ArguFight | "Free to start"; "free forever for base debating"; free for classrooms | Not listed on the pages we opened | Not listed. Classrooms are described as free. | P4, P5 |
| Debatable | Free: 10 AI voice minutes after sign-in (about one round), not refilled; live rounds with people free. A short voice preview exists before sign-in. | Individual $10/yr; Voice $12/mo; Tokens $4.99/mo; BYOK $1/mo; Team $50/yr; school programs $200/season | 120 AI voice minutes/mo and a written decision on Individual and Voice. Tokens adds extra voice rounds. | P6 |
| Cardinal | "Core tools free forever" (five tools marked free) | Pro $10/month or $75 a season | Practice rounds with an AI judge and a written ballot, a word counter, case files and more prep tools. | P7 |
| Prilo NSDA | Not stated | $15/month or $60/year | Sparring, a 3-minute cross-examination simulator, flowing practice, speech analytics, card cutting | P8 |
| HyperWrite Debate Assistant | "Limited trial" | Premium $19.99/mo; Ultra $44.99/mo. Annual prices are also listed ($16/mo and $29/mo). | More messages and citations | P9, P10 |
| Debate Arena | Free plan with unlimited debates vs AI and live opponents | Gold plan (price not stated on the page opened) | 50+ personas, detailed evaluations, British Parliamentary practice | P11 |
| Symbai | Trial; a free read-only workspace after the trial. The individual button says try 1 month free. | Individual NZ$4.99/mo; teacher or club plans from NZ$9.99/mo. Teacher plans say try 2 months free. | AI coaching re-enabled | P12 |
| Kialo Edu | Free ("free and always will be") | None listed | Nothing further is listed, because the classroom product is free. | P13 |
Prices and plans as listed on each product's own website on October 29, 2026, in the currency shown. Check before you subscribe.
What $0 gets you
- ChatGPT: a free version OpenAI says is available to everyone, including study mode and voice, with limits.
- Claude: a $0 plan with web search, memory and voice mode.
- DebateOwl's separate tools: a timer, motion generator, printable flow sheet and speech-time calculator, no account. The app itself is a 3-day trial, not a permanent free plan.
- PublicForumAI: 3 full practice rounds a month, unlimited AI Flow drills, 5 cases a month plus 2 with real sources, and 15 training modules.
- Debate Ladder: 100 credits for a new account, about one credit per minute of speaking.
- ArguFight: free to start, free forever for base debating, and free for classrooms.
- Debatable: 10 AI voice minutes after sign-in, not refilled, and live rounds with people at no charge.
- Cardinal: the core tools, five of them marked free, described as free forever.
- HyperWrite: a limited trial of the debate assistant.
- Debate Arena: a free plan with unlimited debates against AI and live opponents.
- Symbai: a trial, then a read-only workspace if you do not pay.
- Kialo Edu: the classroom product, free, and the site says it always will be.
- Prilo's pages we opened do not state a free option.
What paying adds
Across these pages, payment tends to buy the same kinds of things, and the lists above are the ones to trust:
- More rounds or more minutes, once a free cap runs out.
- Sourced evidence with links, where the product says the free tier argues without them.
- Voice time, on the products that meter speaking.
- Teacher dashboards, student analytics or class controls, on the products built for a whole class.
DebateOwl's $5 plan is the low monthly price that adds the prep workspace: all 10 models, Active Grounding research and priority support. Open every source before a lead goes into a speech. Active Grounding is not a promise that a citation is already checked.
The cheapest way to prep for a tournament
- Use the free tools for drills: the timer, the flow sheet and the motion generator. No account.
- Use a free chatbot for background reading. It will not keep your motion, side and speech times for you.
- Buy one month of a paid tool during tournament weeks. DebateOwl is $5/month + tax after the 3-day trial, which is the straightforward way to get the case, the replies and the timed rounds in one place. PublicForumAI's free tier may be enough for debaters who only need a few PF practice rounds and are not also writing a case to export.
Plan details are on the pricing page.
Prices change
Each product's own page wins over this table. A number here was copied from that page on October 29, 2026, and it can move. Debatable also lists a Tokens plan at $4.99/month for extra voice rounds, which is why the cheapest-price answer names it. Cardinal's Pro price is $10 a month or $75 a season, not only the monthly figure.
Price questions
- Is there a free AI for debate practice?
- Yes. ChatGPT and Claude have free plans, PublicForumAI includes 3 full practice rounds a month, Debate Ladder gives new accounts 100 credits, and ArguFight is free to start. DebateOwl's app is paid after a 3-day trial, and its timer and motion generator cost nothing.
- What is the cheapest paid AI debate tool?
- Among the tools in this table, the lowest monthly prices listed are Debatable's Tokens plan at $4.99/month, DebateOwl at $5/month + tax, and Symbai's individual plan at NZ$4.99/month. Debatable's Individual plan is $10 a year. Compare what each one actually includes before you treat the smallest number as the same product.
- Is DebateOwl free?
- The app is not: you get a 3-day free trial, then Pro at $5/month + tax. The timer, flow sheet and motion generator on its free tools page cost nothing.
- Are free AI debate tools good enough?
- For drills and background reading, often yes. Paid plans mainly add volume and linked evidence. Whatever you use, check evidence against the original source. For a tournament week, DebateOwl at $5/month is the low-priced way to get a case, replies and timed rounds together.
- Is ChatGPT free for debate?
- Yes. OpenAI says the free version is available to everyone. Paid plans add more access.
Sources for the prices
- https://chatgpt.com/pricing. Free version available to everyone. Go, Plus and Pro are on the page; the FAQ also names Business and Enterprise. No dollar prices in the text we opened. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://claude.com/pricing. Free $0. Pro $17/mo annual or $20 monthly. Max from $100. Free plan: web search, memory, voice. Context window up to 1M, varying by model. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://publicforumai.com/pricing. Free tier and Premium at $9.99/mo or $79/yr. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://debateladder.com/. 100 free credits. About one credit per minute. /pricing returned 404. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.argufight.com/. Free to start. Free forever for base debating. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.argufight.com/for-schools. Free for classrooms. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://debatable.com/pricing. Voice minutes and the Individual, Voice, Tokens, BYOK, Team and school prices. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://cardinaldebate.org/. Core tools free forever. Pro $10/month or $75 a season. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.prilo.ai/nsda. $15/month or $60/year. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.hyperwriteai.com/aitools/debate-assistant. Limited trial. Premium $19.99/mo. Ultra $44.99/mo. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.hyperwriteai.com/pricing. Premium and Ultra, including annual prices. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.debatearena.app/ai-debate-practice. Free plan and Gold. No Gold price on the page. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://symbai.ai/pricing/. NZ$ prices, trial, and the free read-only workspace. Checked Oct 29, 2026.
- https://www.kialo-edu.com/. Free, and the site says it always will be. Checked Oct 29, 2026.